UDA Honors Former Board Members for Outstanding Service to Downtown Macon

By January 7, 2020 No Comments

The UDA, in partnership with the Office of Mayor Robert A. B. Reichert, recognized four former board members for their dedicated service to Macon-Bibb County during the UDA’s final board meeting of 2019.

During the meeting, which was held Thursday, December 12, Chairman Chris R. Sheridan, alongside Executive Director Alex Morrison, presented proclamations to Carey Pickard, Shannon Fickling, Gene Dunwody, Jr., and Rick Hutto.

Pickard, who began serving on the board in 2012, completed his term in 2019. Fickling and Hutto both announced their resignations from the board that year, after joining as board members in 2013. Dunwody was appointed to the board in 2010 and completed his term in 2018.

While presenting each proclamation, Sheridan provided heartfelt words of appreciation that revealed the unique and innovative ways the former board members have worked to make Macon’s downtown more economically viable.

In addition to a commitment to public service through the UDA, each individual has held leadership positions that have contributed to business and cultural development in both Macon and surrounding areas in Middle Georgia.

Pickard is senior partner of The Compass Group and former director of the Tubman Museum. Hutto is a former City of Macon councilmember and former executive director at Central Georgia Technical College.

Fickling is the owner of Fickling Architectural Services and Dunwody is the owner of Dunwody/Beeland Architects.

For more information about the dedicated board members of the UDA, we invite you to explore Your UDA on this site.